Drennan Law Firm Drennan Law Firm Dui & Traffic Law Center
843-352-4149 Free Consultation
COVID-19 Notice: Drennan Law Firm is fully operational in accordance with safety regulations provided by the CDC and local health officials. Our attorneys continue to provide quality legal representation and are available to discuss your case over the phone, email, or Apple FaceTime.

What is South Carolina's legal limit for underage drivers?

When a person thinks about legal limits for blood-alcohol content, 0.08 percent is probably what comes to mind immediately. This makes sense, given that every state has established this threshold for driving under the influence charges. However, it's worth noting that different standards might be set for underage drivers, depending on the state.

In addition to the nationwide standard for a 0.08 percent blood-alcohol content limit, every state has a legal drinking age of 21 years old. Beyond that, South Carolina has a 0.02 percent limit for underage drivers. When a person under the age of 21 meets this threshold in a blood or breath test, his or her driver's license could automatically become suspended by the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles.

It's also worth noting that the state code of laws reiterates implied consent laws for drivers under 21. Anyone who is younger than the legal age of consumption has agreed to comply with a breath test simply by driving on the state roads.

Law enforcement can also pursue DUI charges for anyone they deem to be intoxicated, even if the suspected individual hasn't met or surpassed the legal blood-alcohol content limit. This premise applies to drivers of any age.

At a young age, people face significant social pressures. So, if a group of young people are socializing and they wind up drinking, there are a lot of risks to be made aware of. Even if someone believes he or she is able to drive safely and volunteers to be the designated driver, complications can result even at low levels of blood-alcohol content.

Source: WestLaw, South Carolina Code 1976 § 56-1-286

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Call Drennan Law Firm — Free Initial Consultation

Speak with a Charleston criminal lawyer today who will work with you directly, one-on-one.
Please call us at 843-352-4149 or email us to schedule a meeting or for prompt legal assistance.

Email Us 24/7 For Fast Answers

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Main Office
1350 Chuck Dawley Blvd
Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464

Toll Free: 888-722-6179
Phone: 843-352-4149
Phone: 843-606-2970
Fax: 843-606-2971
Mt. Pleasant Law Office Map

Branch Office
Local: 843-352-4149
Toll Free: 888-722-6179