Drennan Law Firm Drennan Law Firm Dui & Traffic Law Center
843-352-4149 Free Consultation
COVID-19 Notice: Drennan Law Firm is fully operational in accordance with safety regulations provided by the CDC and local health officials. Our attorneys continue to provide quality legal representation and are available to discuss your case over the phone, email, or Apple FaceTime.

The consequences of a DUI charge on your license

Your driver's license is your ticket for getting from A to B, and when it gets revoked it can create a lot of inconvenience. As such it is important for South Carolina drivers to understand what circumstances could result in the revocation or suspension of one's license. One of the most common scenarios that triggers a license suspension, for example, is a DUI charge.

As per the current DUI laws that went into affect after Oct. 1, 2014, there are several circumstances in which a DUI offense can trigger a license suspension. If it is your first time DUI offense, and you blew a 14 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or under, then you will be subjected to an automatic 6-month license suspension, with the option of paying a $100 fee and using an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). In this case, you may also be able to receive a provisional license before the 6-month period has passed.

If you refused to submit to a breath alcohol test, then you will be subjected to a 6-month license suspension with the option of paying a $100 fee to have an IID installed in your vehicle, and with no possibility of a provisional license. If you blew a BAC of 15 percent or more, then your license will be subjected to an indefinite suspension and you will not have the option of using an IID. When it comes to second, third and fourth offense DUI's, there is no option of using an IID and the driver's license suspension is indefinite.

As you can see, a DUI can have serious repercussions on your ability to transport yourself. If you have been charged with such an offense, it is important to speak with a South Carolina criminal defense attorney immediately to determine how your particular charges could affect your driving privileges.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Call Drennan Law Firm — Free Initial Consultation

Speak with a Charleston criminal lawyer today who will work with you directly, one-on-one.
Please call us at 843-352-4149 or email us to schedule a meeting or for prompt legal assistance.

Email Us 24/7 For Fast Answers

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Main Office
1350 Chuck Dawley Blvd
Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464

Toll Free: 888-722-6179
Phone: 843-352-4149
Phone: 843-606-2970
Fax: 843-606-2971
Mt. Pleasant Law Office Map

Branch Office
Local: 843-225-2384
Toll Free: 888-722-6179