South Carolina is very tough on people who drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The punishments are severe enough after your first offense. If you already have a DUI on your record, and you get another one, the consequences could change your whole life for the worse.
What are the consequences of multiple DUIs?
South Carolina law is clear on the penalties for driving under the influence. The first time that you get a DUI, you will have to pay a $400 fine – which will actually come out to $992 once you add in the assessments and surcharges. In addition, you could go to jail for any time from 48 hours to 30 days, depending on the circumstances. You could also get your driver’s license suspended for six months.
If you get a second DUI after that, you’ll have to pay a fine up to $5,100 (which will be $10,744 with assessment and surcharges). You can also go to jail for up to one year, and have your license suspended for a year as well.
A third DUI will land you a fine of up to $6,300 ($13,234 with assessments and surcharges). You might go to jail for up to three years, and your license might be suspended for up to two years.
However, the consequences can be even more severe than that if the third DUI occurs too soon after the first one. If your third DUI is within five years of your first DUI, the court will suspend your license for four years. If it occurs within 10 years of the first one, your car will be confiscated.
If you get a fourth DUI, the court will permanently suspend your license, and you could go to prison for up to five years.
What if I injure someone while driving while intoxicated?
If someone suffers serious injury as a result of your driving while under the influence, you could go to prison for up to 15 years. If someone dies, that prison sentence could be for up to 25 years.
The consequences of receiving repeated DUIs are severe. If you are convicted, not only are you looking at possibly losing your job and increased insurance premiums, but you could also go to prison for a long time. It’s much better not to take the risk, and to lean on the safe side if you are unsure whether you are sober enough to drive.