Brand
Drennan Law FirmDui & Traffic Law Center

843-352-4149
Free Consultation

COVID-19 Notice: Drennan Law Firm is fully operational in accordance with safety regulations provided by the CDC and local health officials. Our attorneys continue to provide quality legal representation and are available to discuss your case over the phone, email, or Apple FaceTime.

What is a route restricted license?

On Behalf of | Oct 7, 2016 | Breath Test Refusal

A route restricted license allows someone whose license has been suspended to drive to and from his or her place of education, education, Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program classes or a court ordered drug program. It is only for those who have a non-commercial license and it is for the length of the driver’s license suspension.

A person can get a route restricted license only once and only for the following types of suspensions:

— Alcohol violation

— Accident judgment

— Blood alcohol concentration

— Controlled substance

— False insurance certification

— Failure to stop for a blue light

— Implied consent or breath test refusal

— Misrepresentation of identity

Additional route restricted licenses can be obtained beyond one for the above suspension types for:

— Delinquent child support

— A first or second offense of driving under suspension within five years.

If someone is suspended for driving under the influence or for unlawful alcohol concentration, he or she is not eligible to receive a route restricted license. Those who are suspended for a first time DUI or unlawful alcohol concentration can apply for a provisional diver license if they have a South Carolina driver’s license, have no other suspensions, have enrolled in ADSAP classes and pay the $100.00 fee.

Once you apply for a route restricted license, The Department of Motor Vehicles will determine if you are eligible. If your application is approved, then a fee of $100 is required to obtain the license.

It can be somewhat confusing to know if you are eligible for one of these restricted licenses. An attorney can provide more information.

Source: South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, “Driver License Reinstatement,” accessed Oct. 07, 2016

Archives

We Can Help!
Contact us today for a FREE, no-obligation case review. Don’t delay!

For more videos, visit our video center.

Badge

Committed Criminal Defense In Charleston And Mt. Pleasant

Leading DUI defense representation you can rely on for 24/7 responsiveness, tenacious advocacy and extensive legal knowledge.